top of page

Grisilde & Beth

Yvette’s Prologue

Here’s my tale with a twist,

The plot you’re sure not to miss

To you my audience, I swear it happened like this

Here follows the prologue of Yvette

Her tale told in English 101

One sunny day in London I decided to go for a stroll

On my way to a shopping spree at Harrods.

I wanted to buy some clothes, as not to look like a troll

The vendors on the streets were in full bloom

Happily singing some funny tune

The song was about a gangster’s moll

who worked on the bridge collecting her toll.

I decided to stop and get something to eat

Lo and behold outside this quaint place

There sat a beautiful woman named Grisilde wearing a dress the color of wheat,

Her dark curls flowing across her face

On top of her head, a hat made of lace

Across from her, a woman named Beth wearing a black pants suit sat

On her lap lay a red collared bedazzled cat.

The server sat me so near to them

The wind blew expensive perfume through my nose

Around the neck of Grisilde , was a green gem

With Diamonds on her fingers, and a ring on her pinky toe

Her beauty sure to turn heads wherever she may go

With her cat on her lap, Beth sat cooing at the Café owner who stood near the Café’s sun room

While his little wife Anne stood by angrily holding a broom.

Suddenly, a woman stopped at their table

Grisilde !! Grisilde!! How are you my friend?

Grisilde introduced her to Beth as Mable

They chatted for a few minutes, Mable asking Grisilde for money to lend

Cash in hand, she waved goodbye with money she’s sure to spend

What is going on in Bath? Grisilde asked. (I heard her ask this question I’m sure)

Oh I’m in a Chaucer’s tale. I’m so excited now,

I can’t wait to tell you more…. of this tale

So here goes…

Yvette's Tale

So, Beth how is husband number four?

Are you on husband five (ha ha ha)?

Or did you show him the revolving door

Don’t look at me like that, Is he still alive?

Your kinky sex drive kept them wanting more

Then they grew tired of you, and left you be, for sure

And when the money is spent he hits you up for

More…

Yeah, I showed number four the door

Girl, you know I re-married husband three

Remember what happened, what are you acting like that for,

He wouldn’t stop messing around and he put his hands on me

Grisilde! Beth said, I’m not you… Can’t you see,

Hit me once, your ass is grass, so I threw him out the door

Told him to hit the road and don’t come back anymore.

Grisilde, answered, Walter has me under a lot of stress

Beth, I’m so unhappy, what is happening to me,

I don’t know how to get out of this mess

So much aggravation that I had a miscarriage

I never told anyone, of this loveless marriage

Vows taking for better and for worse

I practice being an obedient wife and taught to be well verse.

I am alone, obedient, loyal and I do not lack

But please don’t judge, or look at me like that

He threatens to take my children to America, how will I get them back

Fight him in court Ha! he has the judges in his pocket

My only memories of my children will be in this locket

Walter said if I leave him, he’ll kill me and throw my body in a sack

I have no funds, stuck in the marriage, looking back.

Grisilde, said Beth, this has been going on throughout history

Men believe they have power and control over us

I know he devalues and abuses you verbally

This happened with my second husband Gus

When I went back to acting he put up a fuss

But he didn’t complain about spending my money

I went through so much mental abuse, let me tell you honey….

Grisilde, continued Beth, I’m a lonely woman, I like to do the do

My two last husbands were very young, can’t you see

I took vitamins and potions and got a face lift too

I never told you this, my husband Gus was accused of rape

I married him before it was too late to escape

Two months later, we divorced, he settled out of court

I was so ashamed for what he’d done

In the end, he was never seen by anyone.

Beth, cried Grisilde, I’m so sorry to hear this news, now that I must go

Walter has spies everywhere, he is being so sneaky and low

Did I tell you that I hate him so this must end I know

Last night, I watched the movie “The Burning Bed”, wishing Walter died slow

Shhh! Grisilde, Beth exclaimed, are you saying what I think?

Grisilde looked over and she winked.

Grisilde’s husband is dead, someone shot him in the head

Walter had so many enemies, his murderer was never found

Thank goodness for the Wife of Bath for being such a good friend

She talked Grisilde out of committing a mortal sin.

Farewell my friends,

The end


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page